Words

The written word can be dangerous.  Your body language is not seen by the reader.  They can not see what your expression was when you were writing.  The words speak for you, and what they say, tells a story about you.  Grammar, spelling, and punctuation all matter.  What matters more is the choice of words.  What are you trying to communicate?  Are you clear?  Are you assuming that the reader knows your intention?  Do you know who is reading?

Today, what you write can go almost anywhere.  Look at me writing a blog.  I posted, and the next day, people I have never met have decided to follow me.  There is a responsibility to ensure that I don’t let my readers misinterpret my intentions.  It is my responsibility to be clear and concise.  I need to represent my true self and respect the reader’s time.

Do you represent yourself when you write an email?  Do you think about your reader at all when you write?  If you are writing a comment to a friend (i.e., Facebook) you have some freedom.  When you are writing an email at work you have a responsibility.  Do you proofread your email?  Do you save your emails as draft and re-read them after some time has passed?  Do you write in the heat of the moment?

Consider the damage you can do with just one email at work.  Forget about how poor grammar and spelling make you look to the reader.  Let’s focus on the intention of what you are communicating.  I can not tell you how many times people have read more into my emails than I ever intended.  Is it my fault that they read something more than what I wrote… yes it is.  I was not clear about my intentions.  Ah, does this mean I have to write long emails explaining every thought I have… no it does not.  I just need to be clear and concise.

Do I have the ultimate solution for you?  No, the only thing I can do is to make you aware.  To stay in the moment when you write.  To stay focused on what you are trying to communicate.  Be clear, concise and use your words carefully.  Be mindful!

P.S. My husband was kind enough to proofread this blog.  Even I have difficulty making sure what I write represents me well.  Thank you Frank!

Leave a comment